E3 Bethesda Reactions

http://bethsoft.com/

Words by DrJohnGalt

The Electronic Entertainment Expo starts today, and this evening is everything. Sure, there were a few other games I was interested in, and maybe some new tech, but Bethesda games are some of my favorites. This is what I want. NEED.

Doom. I did play the original, but I was never a huge fan. It was fun, but I’m just not a sci-fi guy. Space, aliens, and all the creepy stuff wandering the great unknown don’t really get me excited. The early multiplayer didn’t seem to do anything fresh. But what did get my attention was the Doom Snapmap game creator. This has potential. Still interested, but not yet sold.

Battlecry. First thing that caught me was the interesting art style. There is an interesting mix of past and future warriors with a few interesting classes. It looks like an online-only arena-style PvP, but not much more info was announced at this time. Will be watching for more details. Almost looks like Brink…

Dishonored 2. I may lose my Gamer Card, but I never played the first one (although a re-released “Definitive Edition” was also announced for this fall). This looks good. But the original never caught my interest, so this won’t be a Day 1 purchase for me.

Elder Scrolls Online. I’ve got my first full weekend wrapped up and will have an early review posted in a few days. I’m glad to see there are big new things in store for the future of Tamriel. Hopefully the server issues will be taken care of shortly.

Elder Scrolls Legends. Not much information about this (yet). But it’s Elder Scrolls. It’s free to play. ‘Nuff said.

Fallout 4. Already sold. The E3 teaser trailer last week had the interwebs buzzing, and rightly so. Great presentation. Loved the concept art. Character creation looks amazing. Female play has been confirmed (so glad, because I’m a game-world gender-bender). The game starts before “The Bomb” and picks up 200 years later as you wake up as the sole survivor in Vault 111.

Here are a few things I liked: As always, it’s a HUGE world, with player freedom being the number one goal. Smooth graphics, lighting, and shadow. Great voice-acting. First- or third-person. Layered armor. Updated Pip-Boy and VATS. New in-depth crafting your own customizable power armor and 50 base-weapons and over 700 mods. You can even give the dog commands.

It looks like this is everything we’ve come to expect from the franchise. EVERYTHING AND MORE.

Wow. Rebuilding. IN REAL TIME. The possibilities are endless.

Fallout 4 Pip-Boy edition? YESS PLEASE! “As far as stupid gimmicks goes, this is the best fucking one I’ve ever seen!”

And Fallout Shelter??? OMFG this is great… Free to play. Oh man. Unless you have a droid. Like me.

But how will it really look on PS4? That remains to be seen. Either way, this is a Day 1 purchase.*

Release Date: 10 November 2015

The only thing that would have made it better is co-op gameplay. But I’m more than happy with what we have.

What do you all think of the Bethesda conference? What was your biggest surprise? What disappointed?

Stay up-to-date Here: http://bethsoft.com/age

And check out the IGN coverage with trailers, gameplay, and more Here:

http://www.ign.com/articles/2015/06/15/e3-2015-every-news-story-and-game-announcement-from-bethesdas-e3-2015-press-conference

*Already have my Pip-Boy Collectors edition pre-ordered.

Posted on 14 June 2015, in E3, games, opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

